On the Unknown with Kathleen Norris & the New Year: Day 1 of Project 365

“Before you begin a thing, remind yourself that difficulties and delays quite impossible to foresee are ahead. If you could see them clearly, naturally you could do a great deal to get rid of them but you can’t. You can only see one thing clearly and that is your goal. Form a mental vision of that and cling to it through thick and thin.” – Kathleen Norris

Today is the beginning of something huge, something I can feel hovering like a mysterious goliath on the horizon. I do not yet know the shape of Project 365 in 2012, its potentials and its obstacles, but like a sixth sense, I can feel it taking shape just outside of my awareness.

My grandfather introduced me to Kathleen Norris’ poetry, a woman born in the 1940’s and lived for some time as a Benedictine oblate within St. John’s Abbey in Minnesota. I’ve never been an individual who tends towards poetry. I would rather respect their ability to move their audience with so little language from a distance, while instead burying myself in the epic and lengthy journeys of novels.

But in my search to capture something that perfectly expresses my suppressed emotions on the first day of Project 365, I found Norris‘ words a hauntingly clear insight into my mind.

Personally, I am at a huge crossroads in my life. A recent college graduate, looking for graduate school, looking for that perfect career. I find myself constantly attempting to pick out the “difficulties and delays” that will trip me up.

Professionally and as a writer, I constantly allow my inner editor, the one I discuss at length in several previous articles of my blog, to suppress my work habits and creative muse. I love Kathleen’s clear, concise, and logical solution.

The only thing we can ever really ‘know’ is our goals. We cannot predict our hardships, but we can strive to attain happiness. Hell, we live in one of the most powerful nations in the world – a nation founded on the ideal of happiness. So focus on your goals, and cling to them. I will cling to my own goal of daily commitment to my blog. What are some of the goals you are hoping to follow through with this year? What is something you’ve always wanted to do but let it the goal slip through your fingers in the past?

Happy New Year and Goal-Following in 2012!

And to my fellow Project 365-ers in 2012, I hope this day finds you excited and optimistic!

8 thoughts on “On the Unknown with Kathleen Norris & the New Year: Day 1 of Project 365

    • When you use the publisher under “New Post” (a link to the left of your wordpress Dashboard screen) there is an option on the very right column all the way at the bottom (under the option to add a photo). You can just click any of the articles listed and it will be added to your blog!

  1. What a beautifully written first post for the beginning of your 365 Project. I am not sure where you will go with this project but I am sure it will be fantastic. I love the way in which you express yourself and your post hit home with me today. I am so excited about our 365 project, and admittedly a bit nervous about the huge responsibility of honoring our veterans.

    • I always thought writing and cereal went well together If it helps, I’m planning on writing them earlier in the day but I’m not sure I will have it together by breakfast. Perhaps you are reading them a day late every day?

Leave a Reply

