Dealing with Bad Days & Winston Churchill: Day 17 of Project 365

English: Sir Winston Churchill.

Winston Churchill

If you’re going through hell, keep going.  ~Winston Churchill

Today is not a good day.

Writing is especially difficult for me to do when I’m going through an emotionally, ah, challenging day. If any one thing had happened on its own, I would deal with it rather admirably.

But you know how bad things come in threes.

If you are a writer like me, perhaps you know exactly what I’m saying when I say that bad days are the worst days for me to write on – unless it is very private and forever private journal-writing, I suppose. But bad days are no excuse in our productivity-heavy world. What are you if you are not contributing to society? (On that note, perhaps I should go read some Thoreau.)

My strategy for dealing with bad days are as follows.

1. Acknowledge the emotions you are feeling. As a self-proclaimed girl (I hope I never have to use a male pseudoname), the best way for me to deal with my feelings are a little tears. They get out, you move on.

2. Put the situation into words. Say it, write it, sing about it if that’s what works for you.

3. Think about how your favorite & most admirable character would deal with the problems you are experiencing. This one is probably my favorite step. I almost always get an instant moment of clarity and perspective. After all, most characters you read about in books have horrible, horrible lives. Don’t be afraid to compare.

4. Make coffee and drink water. Put something in your belly that picks you and makes you stand a little straighter. Clean something. Find someway to “refresh” your day and so you can mentally brush yourself off and start over.

For anyone who’s having an especially bad day, I hope you give these steps a try and let me know how it works for you!

Like what you read? Don’t forget to hit “like” and the “subscribe” button!

4 thoughts on “Dealing with Bad Days & Winston Churchill: Day 17 of Project 365

  1. Churchill- we stand in awe of this giant of history. Some do not. Some justification there if you are not British. He stood for empire. The British Empire and that means colonialism. His leadership for Britain-a Godsend. For them. But if I was of the colonized and subjugated people I suppose I’d have no admiration at all.

  2. Pingback: Writing, Other Jobs, & Russell Baker: Day 18 of Project 365 « Writer's Code

  3. Pingback: Why We Still Write When We Seem Unhappy & Georges Simenon: Day 19 of Project 365 « Writer's Code

  4. Pingback: Fear & Paulo Coelho: Day 21 of Project 365 « Writer's Code

Leave a Reply

